FADING AWAY

2016 Nov 24, Thursday

FADING AWAY

While helping my brother shop for furniture, I noticed a curious set of items in the kitchen section: dishes and cups that were not perfectly shaped. It reminded me about an online article about the Japanese concept of wabi-sabi. 

At the risk of oversimplifying it,the concept is about appreciation of the imperfect. This is different from how Western ideals of beauty and art are focused on perfection, that beauty is associated with the divine. Gods that never age or never do wrong. 

But wabi-sabi does not focus on grandeur and divinity. It relishes in the simple, the rustic, the idea that, flawed creatures as we are, our creations will be flawed as well. But that does not detract from their charm at all. Everything ages, everything fades, everything is flawed. And that is okay. 

Realizing that is one reason why I mustered the courage to draw and write again, and to post my work online even if they are not the highest quality. I hope that I did a good job. 

I think it is time to listen to “All of Me” by John Legend. 

– theresurreccionofkevin

Leave a Reply

