Broken

​2016 08 04

Broken

They broke into the sacred room

I froze, of course, what could I do?

With lips so wet from blood and sweat

Those bearded beasts, with beaten breast

And roaring cries, they turned on us

My father, shaper of my form

My mother, watcher of my home

Cut down and cast aside like rags

Their grimy hands tore at my dress

And bared my flesh, once marble white

Defiled and ripped away from home

They struck my cheek, I heard a crack

It was my face of smoothest stone

I cannot bleed or break a bone

Yet pain still lances through my core

The city burns, and thrives no more
#KJaRt #KJwRite #poem #poetry #writing #tragedy #invasion #war #destruction

Leave a Reply

